Tourney MVP Perryman, Todd lead Comets (10-0) to title

Palomar's women's basketball team has moved to No. 2 in the state poll
Palomar's women's basketball team has moved to No. 2 in the state poll

CYPRESS (12-03-2017) -- Palomar took home back-to-back victories in the semifinals and the championship game in the Cypress Lady Charger Classic over the weekend to capture its third women's basketball tournament title of the 2017-18 season and advance to 10-0 on the season.

After holding off host Cypress' upset bid on Friday 72-70, the Comets came from 12 points down at the half to defeat East Los Angeles 85-78 in overtime in Saturday's championship game.

Vinessa Perryman hammered East L.A. with 24 points, 5 rebounds and 6 assists in the championship game and was awarded tournament MVP honors. She went 7-for-fron the field, was 4-for-6 on 3-pointers and went 6-for-10 from the free throw line.

Palomar teammates Monica Todd contributed a double-double with 19 points and 15 rebounds and added 5 assists as she also made the all-tournament team.

Nia De La Pena-Thompson joined Perryman and Todd in double figures with 14 points and also contributed 7 rebounds and 2 steals. Tianna Shaw had 9 points and 4 assists. Sophia Neubauer had 7 points, 7 rebounds, 3 assists and 2 blocks.

The Huskies (6-3) jumped out to a 38-26 halftime lead before the Comets battled back to tie the game 69-69 at the end of regulation play. Coach Leigh Marshall's squad then outscored East L.A. 16-9 in the overtime session.

In Friday's semifinals, Perryman scored 20 points and also had 7 rebounds and 5 assists as the Comets held off a late rally by Cypress. Todd scored 14 points and added 11 rebounds and 3 assists. De la Pena-Thompson had 8 points and 9 rebounds. Neubauer finished with 6 points.