A Record Eighty-Four Fall Athletes Earn All-PCAC Academic Honors

SAN MARCOS— Participants in the recently concluded 2017 Palomar College fall season of sport produced no fewer than 84 Pacific Coast Athletic Conference Scholar-Athlete honorees, an all-time record for the program. Qualification for the award includes active participation on an in-season intercollegiate athletic team, successful completion of 12-or-more semester units and a 3.0 (B equivalent) grade-point average.

The honored students include 27 members of the Comet football team, exactly double the number of a year ago and clearly the determining factor in the record-setting overall program total. Additionally, the honorees include 10 members of the wrestling team; eight members each of the women's soccer and women's water polo teams; seven members each from the men's soccer, women's volleyball and men's water polo teams; five women's cross country runners; three women's golfers and two members of the men's cross country team. Although not recognized by the PCAC, Palomar's co-ed cheer squad also had two of its' members to meet the standard.

Eleven Comet fall-sport athletes achieved perfect 4.0 (straight-A) grade point averages for the semester, including: Daniel Deloe (men's cross country); Hannah Lopez (women's cross country); Tyson Dyer and Rosario Patrick (football); Abby Corona (women's golf); Emily Cooper and Nicole Vinisse (women's soccer); Sara Anne Mitchell and Mikayla Seiler (women's volleyball); Mace Anderson and Layce Barmaki (wrestling). Collectively, the eleven straight-A students averaged a level 15-units passed for the semester. Another 23 athletes finished the semester with GPA's of 3.5 or higher. Overall, of the 190 fall-sport participants, 132 (69%) passed 12-or-more semester units and achieved an aggregate grade-point average of 2.76.


Following is the complete list of 2017 Palomar College fall-sport scholar-athletes, grouped according to the individual sport programs:



Kelsey Bright

Jennifer Schildge



Matthew DeHaven*

Daniel Deloe



Marissa Horton

Tria Ismay

Hannah Lopez

Astrid Sanchez Martinez

Natalie Yendes



Blake Adamson

Issiah Aguero

Jake Ambrose

Michael Childress

Tyson Dyer

Rosario Ebert

Zachary Goodkin

Chris Grimes

Jesus Hernandez

Rayshawn Herring

Preston Johnson

Nikola Kresovich

Kaainaoluikalai Lewis

Devin Nilson

Chase Olson

Joshua Pichette*

Ethan Reber*

Matt Romero

Maxwell Scott

Justin Sturm

Currie Thomason*

Brandon Valdez-Price

Tyler Vargas

Chandler Wachholtz*

Devonte Woods

Arnold Yoder

Nicholas Zimmerman*



Abigail Corona

Michelle delaCruz Luna*

Victoria Owings



Anthony Aldapa

Jaime Fournier

Aaron Garcia

Anthony Lew

Princewill Maduekwe

Aaron Proulx

Miguel Valladolid



Alexia Bruzzi

Emily Cooper

Analy Gaytan

Samantha Kaye-Toral

Rosa Lopez

Seika Nakatsuru

Yuliana Sanchez

Nicole Venisse



Reagan Brown

Lisa Eldridge*

Sara Anne Mitchell

Samantha Radebaugh*

Noemi Ramos

Mikayla Seiler

Cassandra Warner



Joshua Benitez

Terrin Davis

Tobias Fast

John Pearce

Thomas Preston

Bryce Van Camp

Dylan Van Horn*



Rebekah Blackburn*

Skylar Buckland

Jordann Heimback*

Jillian Kennedy

Mackenzie Montgomery

Samantha Roessel

Sydney Thomas

Carley Woods



Mace Anderson

Braulio Banuelos

Layce Barmaki

Gabriel Buccat

Chance Eskam

Christopher Franklin

Zackary Moistner

Inyeob Na

Nathan Navida

Arturo Osorio